2018 Call for Papers, Submission Information, More

The 2018 submissions portal is open now!  The deadline for all submissions will be October 15, 2017.  Follow this link to get to the PSA portal–but, first, read the information below!

To organize its annual meeting, PSA primarily uses an online system of open submissions to topical areas.  This means that most scholars hoping to participate in 2018 will access the online system, choose a topical area, and indicate their preferred type of participation (formal research presentation, research-in-progress, or some other type of session).  You can find the list of topical areas on the next page, as well as the program committee members who will organize submissions into sessions for each of these areas. However, PSA committees also sponsor some special sessions and seek paper submissions; the list of these sessions is included below.  Faculty, graduate students, and other professional sociologists need to provide an abstract of their proposal, with a maximum 200 words, to include the objective, methods, results, and findings as appropriate.

Faculty and professional sociologists can also submit a proposal for a complete session.  This might be an author-meets-critics session, a film or other creative media session, or a panel of scholars who want to present together on a particular topic.

Undergraduate students wishing to participate in the PSA meeting first select the undergraduate poster or roundtable format, then choose the topical area that best fits their work.  Undergraduate students are asked to provide a longer proposal that includes two pages of information on their research question, intended contribution of their research, description of theory and methods, and a third page of source references.  Undergraduates also are required to give name and contact information for a faculty mentor who is familiar with their work. Undergraduate submissions are organized into sessions by Undergraduate Coordinator Robert Kettlitz.

You may not submit the same paper to more than one place within the online submission system.  You may, however, submit several different papers to one or more topical areas or open-call committee-sponsored sessions.

Submissions close on October 15, 2017.  Program Committee members will then begin to organize sessions. Watch for an email notice of acceptance of your submission in early November.  Then watch for and email in December with the preliminary program  to see when sessions have been scheduled.

Step-by-step instructions for 2018 submission system

2018 Program Committee
Note: Although topical area organizers names and emails are provided, questions about the conference, submission system, or other general information should be directed to the PSA Executive Office at executivedirector@pacificsoc.org.

Topical Area Name Affiliation Email
Applied, Clinical, & Public Sociology Darby Southgate Los Angeles Valley College southgde@lavc.edu
Asian/Asian American Sociology Vincent Laus CSU Stanislaus vlaus@csustan.edu
Crime, Law, and Deviance Tanya Nieri UC Riverside Tanyan@ucr.edu
Art, Culture, and Popular Culture Rob Gardner Linfield College rgardne@linfield.edu
Childhood and Youth Stephanie Anckle Claremont Grad. University Stephanie.anckle@cgu.edu
Education—Higher Education Sandra Way N. Mexico State University sway@nmsu.edu
Education (other than higher) Joe Johnston Gonzaga University johnstonj@gonzaga.edu
Environmental Sociology Laura Earles Lewis & Clark State College leearles@lcsc.edu
Economic Sociology Elizabeth Sowers CSU Channel Islands Elizabeth.sowers@csuci.edu
Ethnography Black Hawk Hancock DePaul University bhancock@depaul.edu
Food and Society Black Hawk Hancock DePaul University bhancock@depaul.edu
Life Course and Aging Deborah Thorne University of Idaho dthorne@uidaho.edu
Gender Marjukka Ollilainen Weber State University mollilainen@weber.edu
Intimate Relationships, Families, and Reproductive Politics Laury Oaks UC Santa Barbara oaks@femst.ucsb.edu
Marxist Sociology/Critical Sociology Jake Wilson CSU Long Beach Jake.wilson@csulb.edu
Media and Communication Matt Rafalow Google mrafalow@uci.edu
Medical Sociology and Health Mike Chavez CSU Long Beach Michael.chavez@csulb.edu
Methods Robert Obrien University of Oregon bobrien@uoregon.edu
Migration/Immigration Daniel Olmos University of Denver Daniel.olmos@du.edu
Latinx Sociology Manuel Barajas CSU Sacramento mbarajas@csus.edu
Labor and Labor Movements Jake Wilson CSU Long Beach Jake.wilson@csulb.edu
Politics & the State (Political Sociology) Christopher Chase Dunn UC Riverside chriscd@ucr.edu
Population and Demography Robert Obrien University of Oregon bobrien@uoregon.edu
Peace, War, and the Military Kara Dellacioppa CSU Dominguez Hills kdellacioppa@csudh.edu
Race/Ethnicity Marcia Marx CSU San Bernardino mmarx@csusb.edu
Race, Class and Gender Sabrina Alimahomed-Wilson CSU Long Beach Sabrina.alimahomed@csulb.edu
Religion Stacy George Whitworth University sgeorge@whitworth.edu
Regional Studies, Transnationalism, Globalization, and Development Shweta Adur CSU Los Angeles sadur@calstatela.edu
Science and Technology Yu Tao Stevens Inst. of Technology ytao@stevens.edu
Sexualities Jodi O’Brien Seattle University jobrien@seattleu.edu
Social Movements and Social Change Kelsy Kretschmer Oregon State University Kelsy.kretschmer@oregonstate.edu
Social Psychology, Identity, and Emotions Bill Rocque University of Redlands William_rocque@redlands.edu
Social Stratification, Inequality, Poverty Ranita Ray U. of Nevada Las Vegas Ranita.ray@unlv.edu
Sociology of Islam Sabrina Alimahomed-Wilson CSU Long Beach Sabrina.alimahomed@csulb.edu
Sport and Leisure Michelle Robertson St. Edwards University michelr@stedwards.edu
Urban and Community Studies Carol Ward Brigham Young University Carol_ward@byu.edu
Theory Jason Wollschleger Whitworth University jwollschleger@whitworth.edu
Work and Organizations Preston Rudy San Jose State University Preston.rudy@sjsu.edu
Teaching Sociology Susan Murray San Jose State University Susan.murray@sjsu.edu
Teaching Sociology: Community Colleges Jackie Logg Cabrillo College jalogg@cabrillo.edu
Undergraduate Roundtables and Posters Robert Kettlitz Hastings College rkettlitz@hastings.edu
Graduate Fair Kristy Shih

Sharon Elise

Central Michigan University

CSU San Marcos

Shih1k@cmich.edu
selise@csusm.edu)
Local Arrangements Gary Hytrek CSU Long Beach Gary.hytrek@csulb.edu
Program Chair Amy Leisenring San Jose State University Amy.leisenring@sjsu.edu

Committee-Sponsored Sessions Included in the “Open Call”

Check the format of the session first; undergraduate students can only submit proposals to sessions marked for undergraduates, for example, and some sessions  open to graduate student and faculty/etc. submissions are looking for panelists rather than papers. Then look at the title of the session.

Title Format Committee Organizer Name Affiliation Email
LGBTQ Research Undergraduate Roundtable Status of LGBTQ Persons Don Barrett CSU San Marcos dbarrett@csusm.edu
Research on Girls and Women Undergraduate Roundtable Status of Women Alicia Gonzales CSU San Marcos amgonzal@csusm.edu
Learning in a Climate of Oppression and Surveillance Undergraduate & Graduate Roundtable Civil Rights & Civil Liberties Desire Anastasia Cartwright MSU Denver danastas@msudenver.edu
GIFTS Great Ideas for Teaching Sociology Formal Papers Emeritus & Retired Dean Dorn CSU Sacramento dornds@csus.edu
Women of Color across the Life Course Formal Papers & Research in Progress Status of Women Alicia Gonzales CSU San Marcos amgonzal@csusm.edu
Racial Disparities in Women’s Health Formal Papers & Research in Progress Status of Women Alicia Bonaparte Pitzer College Alicia_bonaparte@pitzer.edu
Gendered Resistance to the Socio-political Landscape Formal Papers & Research in Progress Status of Women Michelle Robertson St. Edward’s University michelr@stedwards.edu
How Dare You Teach That: The Gendered Classroom Formal Papers & Research in Progress Status of Women Judy Hennessy Central Washington University hennessj@cwu.edu
Immigration and Women Formal Papers & Research in Progress Status of Women Richelle Swan CSU San Marcos rswan@csusm.edu
Teaching about Disability Formal Papers & Research in Progress Teaching Kristin Haltinner University of Idaho khaltinner@uidaho.edu
Teaching Qualitative Research Methods Formal Papers & Research in Progress Teaching Kristin Haltinner University of Idaho khaltinner@uidaho.edu
Teaching Race and Ethnic Relations: Challenges and Opportunities Formal Papers Teaching Elvia Ramirez CSU Sacramento eramirez@csus.edu
Teaching Latino/a Sociology: Innovations, Changes, and Challenges Formal Papers Teaching Elvia Ramirez CSU Sacramento eramirez@csus.edu
Teaching Introduction to Sociology: Best Practices to Construct the Sociological Imagination Formal Papers Teaching Ting Jiang MSU Denver Tjiang@msudenver.edu
Sociology and Religion: Learning through a Lens of Faith Formal Papers Teaching Tracey Hoover Central Washington University Tracey.hoover@cwu.edu
Teaching in a Climate of Oppression and Surveillance Formal Papers Civil Rights & Civil Liberties Desire Anastasia Cartwright MSU Denver danastas@msudenver.edu
Ethnic Studies Programs: Promises and Pitfalls Formal Papers & Research in Progress Status of Racial and Ethnic Minorities Nelson Pichardo Central Washington University Nelson.pichardo@cwu.edu
Fostering Future Graduate Students in Community Colleges Formal Papers& Research in Progress Community Colleges James McKeever
Rebecca Romo
Pierce College LA
Santa Monica College
mckeevaj@piercecollege.edu
romo_rebecca@smc.edu
Reflections on Community College Teaching and Learning Formal Papers & Research in Progress Community Colleges Steve Nava DeAnza College navasteve@fhda.edu
navasociology@gmail.com
Teaching Sociology at Community Colleges (Innovations, Changes, and Challenges) Formal Papers & Research in Progress Community Colleges Jackie Logg Cabrillo College jalogg@cabrillo.edu
Active Learning Strategies in Community College Classrooms Formal Papers & Research in Progress Community Colleges Celene Fuller College of the Canyons Celene.fuller@csun.edu
Building Community among Full Time and Adjunct Faculty Formal Papers & Research in Progress Community Colleges Jamee Kristen Portland Community College Jamee.kristen@pcc.edu
Student Mentoring and Support: Experiences, Strategies, and Innovations Panel Endowment Amanda Shigihara SUNY College at Old Westbury shigiharaa@oldwestbury.edu
Best Practices in Building Memorable and Meaningful Learning Experiences in “Introduction to Sociology” Panel Teaching Jimiliz Valiente-Neighbours Point Loma Nazarene University jvalient@pointloma.edu
Transcending Gender Binary Panel Status of LGBTQ Persons Meredith Conover-Williams Humboldt State University meredith.williams@humboldt.edu
LGBTQ: Life Course, Aging, and Health Panel Status of LGBTQ Persons Griff Tester Central Washington University Griff.tester@cwu.edu
Teaching by LGBTQ Panel Status of LGBTQ Persons Sean Davis Mira Costa College sdavis@miracosta.edu
Research on Teaching LGBTQ Panel Status of LGBTQ Persons Sean Davis Mira Costa College sdavis@miracosta.edu