2019 PSA Conference Call for Papers, Submission Information, and More

The online submission system is now open.

Deadline for most submissions is October 15, 2018.

Submissions for undergraduate roundtable and poster sessions will close on November 15, 2018.
Call for Papers, PSA 2019

     To organize its annual meeting, PSA primarily uses an online system of open submissions of papers to topical areas.  Faculty and other professional sociologists as well as graduate students will access the online system, choose a topical area, and indicate their preferred type of participation (formal research presentation, research-in-progress, or some other type of session).  You can find the list of topical areas on the next page, as well as the program committee members who will organize submissions into sessions for each of these areas. However, PSA committees also sponsor some special sessions and seek paper submissions; the list of these sessions is included below.  Faculty, graduate students, and other professional sociologists need to provide an abstract of their proposal, with a maximum 200 words, to include the objective, methods, results, and findings as appropriate.

     Faculty and professional sociologists can also submit a proposal for a complete session.  This might be an author-meets-critics session, a film or other creative media session, or a panel of scholars who want to present together on a particular topic. Note: It is not possible to submit an ‘open’ session, seeking participants; all submissions of session must include all information on all presenters/participants.

Undergraduate students first select either the undergraduate poster or roundtable format, then choose the topical area that best fits their work.  Undergraduate students are asked to provide a longer proposal that includes two pages of information on their research question, intended contribution of their research, description of theory and methods, and a third page of source references.  Undergraduates also are required to give name and contact information for a faculty mentor who is familiar with their work. Undergraduate submissions are organized into sessions by Undergraduate Coordinator Robert Kettlitz.

You may not submit the same paper to more than one place within the online submission system.  You may, however, submit several different papers to one or more topical areas or open-call committee-sponsored sessions.

See the bottom of this page for downloadable instructions on how to make a submission in the online system.

 Follow this link to the PSA Member Login, Create Account, Submit a Presentation Proposal, Pay Membership and Registration     

Submissions close on October 15, 2018 (except submissions to undergraduate roundtable and poster sessions are extended until November 15, 2018).  Program Committee members will then begin to organize sessions. Watch for an email notice of acceptance of your submission in early November (or mid November for undergraduate sessions).  Then watch for an email in December with the preliminary program  to see when sessions have been scheduled.

2019 Program Committee

Note: Questions about the conference, submission system, or other general information should be directed to the PSA Executive Office, executivedirector@pacificsoc.org.

Topical Area Name Affiliation Email
Applied, Clinical, & Public Sociology  Sophie Nathenson Oregon Institute of Technology Sophialyn.nathenson@oit.edu
Asian/Asian American Sociology Jacob Huang California Baptist University jhuang@calbaptist.edu
Crime, Law, and Deviance Tanya Nieri UC Riverside Tanyan@ucr.edu
Art, Culture, and Popular Culture Linda Rillorta Mt. San Antonio College lrillorta@mtsac.edu
Childhood and Youth Sharon Davis University of La Verne sdavis@laverne.edu
Education—Higher Education Megan Thiele San Jose State University megan.thiele@sjsu.edu
Education—other than Higher Ed. Joe Johnston Gonzaga University johnstonj@gonzaga.edu
Environmental Sociology Laura Earles Lewis-Clark State College leearles@lcsc.edu
Economic Sociology Elizabeth Sowers CSU Channel Islands Elizabeth.sowers@csuci.edu
Ethnography Black Hawk Hancock DePaul University bhancock@depaul.edu
Food and Society Black Hawk Hancock DePaul University bhancock@depaul.edu
Life Course and Aging Deborah Thorne University of Idaho dthorne@uidaho.edu
Gender Marjukka Ollilainen Weber State University mollilainen@weber.edu
Intimate Relationships, Families, and Reproductive Politics Laury Oaks UC Santa Barbara oaks@femst.ucsb.edu
Marxist Sociology/Critical Sociology Jake Wilson CSU Long Beach Jake.wilson@csulb.edu
Media and Communication Linda Rillorta Mt. San Antonio College lrillorta@mtsac.edu
Medical Sociology and Health Margaret Gough University of La Verne mgough@laverne.edu
Methods Robert Obrien University of Oregon bobrien@uoregon.edu
Migration/Immigration Daniel Olmos CSU Northridge Daniel.olmos@csun.edu
Latinx Sociology Manuel Barajas CSU Sacramento mbarajas@csus.edu
Labor and Labor Movements Jake Wilson CSU Long Beach Jake.wilson@csulb.edu
Politics and the State (Political Sociology) Christopher Chase Dunn UC Riverside chriscd@ucr.edu
Population and Demography Robert Obrien University of Oregon bobrien@uoregon.edu
Peace, War, and the Military Augustine Kposowa UC Riverside augustine.kposowa@ucr.edu
Race/Ethnicity Marcia Marx CSU San Bernardino mmarx@csusb.edu
Race, Class and Gender Kristy Shih CSU Long Beach kristy.Shih@csulb.edu
Religion (including Sociology of Islam) Reid Leamaster Glendale Comm. College (AZ) reid.leamaster@gccaz.edu
Regional Studies, Transnationalism, Globalization, and Development Shweta Adur CSU Los Angeles sadur@calstatela.edu
Science and Technology Yu Tao Stevens Inst. of Technology ytao@stevens.edu
Sexualities Jodi O’Brien Seattle University jobrien@seattleu.edu
Social Movements and Social Change Kelsy Kretschmer Oregon State University Kelsy.kretschmer@oregonstate.edu
Social Psychology, Identity, and Emotions Bill Rocque University of Redlands William_rocque@redlands.edu
Social Stratification, Inequality, and Poverty Ranita Ray University of Nevada Las Vegas Ranita.ray@unlv.edu
Sport and Leisure Michelle Robertson St. Edwards University michelr@stedwards.edu
Urban and Community Studies Carol Ward Brigham Young University Carol_ward@byu.edu
Theory Glenn Goodwin University of La Verne ggoodwin@laverne.edu
Work and Organizations Jill Harrison University of Oregon jah@uoregon.edu
Teaching Sociology Susan Murray San Jose State University Susan.murray@sjsu.edu
Teaching Sociology: Community Colleges Jackie Logg Cabrillo College jalogg@cabrillo.edu
Undergraduate Roundtables and Posters Robert Kettlitz Hastings College rkettlitz@hastings.edu

2019 Committee Sponsored Sessions for Open Call

 Although undergraduate submitters can only submit to undergraduate sessions, other submitters can choose to submit to one of the following special sessions being organized by PSA committees.

Title Committee Organizer Name and Email
Academic Freedom and Contingent Faculty Committee on Freedom in Research and Teaching Dan Morrison, Abilene Christian University   dan.morrison@acu.edu
Women of Color across the Life Course Committee on the Status of Women Alicia Gonzales, CSU San Marcos   amgonzal@csusm.edu
Millennials, Gender and Inequality Committee on the Status of Women Sojung Lim, Utah State University   sojung.lim@usu.edu
Activism Related to Sexual Assault, Sexual Harassment and Sexual Violence Committee on the Status of Women Richelle Swan, CSU San Marcos  rswan@csusm.edu
Mothering in the Academy Committee on the Status of Women Ryanne Pilgeram, U. of Idaho   rpilgeram@uidaho.edu
Gendered Resistance to the Sociopolitical Landscape Committee on the Status of Women Michelle Robertson, St. Edward’s University  michelr@stedwards.edu
Employment at Community Colleges Committee on Community Colleges Sharon Yee,  Chandler Gilbert Community College   sharonayee@yahoo.com
Teaching Under-prepared Students Committee on Community Colleges Harry Mersmann, San Joaquin Delta College   hmersmann@deltacollege.edu
Mental Health and Students Committee on Community Colleges Liz Bennett, Central New Mexico Community College   ebennett18@cnm.edu
Engaging Activities for Teaching Inequalities Committee on Teaching Jennifer Puentes, Eastern Oregon University   jpuentes@eou.edu
Graduate Teaching Committee on Teaching Jason Leiker, Utah State University   Jason.leiker@usu.edu
Teaching Ideas for Crime and Deviance Committee on Teaching Jason Leiker, Utah State University   Jason.leiker@usu.edu
Best Practices in Teaching Online Classes Committee on Teaching Jason Leiker, Utah State University   Jason.leiker@usu.edu
Engaging Research in Introductory Sociology Committee on Teaching Michelle Robertson, St. Edward’s University   michelr@stedwards.edu
Doing Emotional Labor in the Classroom Committee on Teaching Michelle Robertson, St. Edward’s University   michelr@stedwards.edu
Student Mentoring and Support: Experiences, Strategies, and Innovations Endowment Committee Amanda Shigihara,CSU Sacramento shigihara@csus.edu