2020 Call for Papers: How to Submit to Present

The deadline for submissions is October 15, 2019.
Scroll down for downloadable instructions on how to use the online submission system.

To organize its annual meeting, PSA primarily uses an online system of open submissions to topical areas. 

Faculty and other professional sociologists as well as graduate students will access the online system, choose a topical area, and indicate their preferred type of participation (formal research presentation, research-in-progress, or some other type of session).  You can find the list of topical areas on the next page, as well as the program committee members who will organize submissions into sessions for each of these areas. However, PSA committees also sponsor some special sessions and seek paper submissions; the list of these sessions is also included below. Faculty, graduate students, and other professional sociologists need to provide an abstract of their proposal, with a maximum 200 words, to include the objective, methods, results, and findings as appropriate.

Faculty and professional sociologists can also submit a proposal for a complete session.  This might be a book salon (formerly called author-meets-critics session), a film or other creative media session, or a panel of scholars who want to present together on a particular topic.  However, submissions of sessions completely composed of presenters from one school are discouraged; these sessions are often not well attended, and space in the program is limited.  Presenters instead should submit their individual papers, where they will be placed appropriately in sessions with other presenters—and thus also have the opportunity to learn from these other presenters.
Instructions for 2020 submission system FACULTY GRAD STUDENTS ETC

Undergraduate students first select either the undergraduate poster or roundtable format, then choose the topical area that best fits their work.  For a poster, students will prepare a large poster about their research, then stand next to it and explain to any interested viewers. For a roundtable, students will send their completed paper to the faculty assigned as Discussant for their table prior to the conference. Then, at the conference, they will be seated at a large table with several other students whose research is on related topics; each student will orally present a summary of their work, and then the faculty Discussant will guide discussion. At the time of submission, undergraduate students are asked to provide a longer proposal that includes two pages of information on their research question, intended contribution of their research, description of theory and methods, and a third page of source references.  Undergraduates also are required to give name and contact information for a faculty mentor who is familiar with their work. Undergraduate submissions are organized into sessions by Undergraduate Coordinator Robert Kettlitz.  Instructions for 2020 submission system UNDERGRADUATES

You may not submit the same paper to more than one place within the online submission system.  You may, however, submit  different papers to one or more topical areas or open-call committee-sponsored sessions.

Please submit only papers you really intend to present.  At PSA, papers are generally accepted.  Do not submit a lot of papers in hopes that a few will be accepted.   Submit only papers you firmly expect to be ready to present.

There are several new topical areas this year: Black Sociology, Indigenous Sociology, and Rural Sociology. Another change is that a few topical areas have been joined: Education is now for all levels of education, and Economic Sociology has been joined to Work and Organizations.

Note: General questions about the conference, submission system, or other general information should be directed to the PSA Executive Office, executivedirector@pacificsoc.org.

2020 Program Committee

Program Chair:  Elizabeth Sowers, California State University, Channel Islands      elizabeth.sowers@csuci.edu

You will choose from these Topical Areas (and the Committee-sponsored sessions accepting papers) when you submit your paper.  The Organizers listed will review submissions and organize them into sessions. Please do not send your paper to an Organizer unless you are asked to do so. You must submit your paper in the online submission system.

Topical Area Organizer Name and Affiliation Email
Applied, Clinical, and Public Sociology José Muñoz, CSU San Bernardino munoz@csusb.edu
Art, Culture, and Popular Culture Linda Rillorta, Mt. San Antonio College lrillorta@mtsac.edu
Asian/Asian American Sociology Dana Nakano, CSU Stanislaus dnakano@csustan.edu
Black Sociology Lori Walkington, CSU San Marcos lwalking@csusm.edu
Childhood and Youth Gabrielle Plickert, Cal Poly Pomona gplickert@cpp.edu
Crime, Law, and Deviance Josh Meisel, Humboldt State University joshua.meisel@humboldt.edu
Education (Higher Education & other) Brianne Davila, Cal Poly Pomona badavila@cpp.edu
Environmental Sociology Laura Earles, Lewis-Clark State College leearles@lcsc.edu
Ethnography Jennifer Reich, Univ. of Colorado, Denver jennifer.reich@ucdenver.edu
Food and Society Rachel Soper, CSU Channel Islands rachel.soper@csuci.edu
Gender Georgiann Davis, U. of Nevada Las Vegas georgiann.davis@unlv.edu
Indigenous Sociology James Courage Singer, Salt Lake CC james.singer@slcc.edu
Intimate Relationships, Families, & Reproductive Politics Laury Oaks, UC Santa Barbara oaks@femst.ucsb.edu
Labor and Labor Movements Jason Struna, University of Puget Sound jstruna@pugetsound.edu
Latinx Sociology Celia Lacayo, UCLA celialacayo@gmail.com
Life Course and Aging Anna Muraco, Loyola Marymount U. amuraco@lmu.edu
Marxist Sociology/Critical Sociology Jey Strangfeld, CSU Stanislaus  jstrangfeld@csustan.edu
Media and Communication Susan Rahman, College of Marin srahman@marin.edu
Medical Sociology and Health Alicia Bonaparte, Pitzer College alicia_bonaparte@pitzer.edu
Methods Pete Simi, Chapman University simi@chapman.edu
Migration/Immigration Katie Dingeman, CSU Los Angeles mdingem@calstatela.edu
Peace, War, and the Military Augustine Kposowa, UC Riverside augustine.kposowa@ucr.edu
Politics & the State (Political Sociology) Raphi Rechitsky, National University rrechitsky@nu.edu
Population and Demography Georgiana Bostean, Chapman University gbostean@chapman.edu
Race, Class and Gender Kristy Shih, CSU Long Beach kristy.shih@csulb.edu
Race/Ethnicity Daniel Olmos, CSU Northridge daniel.olmos@csun.edu
Regional Studies, Transnationalism, Globalization, & Development Kemi Balogun, University of Oregon kbalogun@uoregon.edu
Religion (including Sociology of Islam) Reid Leamaster, Glendale Comm. Coll. reid.leamaster@gccaz.edu
Rural Sociology Jennifer Sherman, Washington State U. jennifer_sherman@wsu.edu
Science and Technology Dilshani Sarathchandra, U. of Idaho dilshanis@uidaho.edu
Sexualities Jodi O’Brien, Seattle University jobrien@seattleu.edu
Social Movements and Social Change Nella Van Dyke, UC Merced nvandyke@ucmerced.edu
Social Psychology, Identity, Emotions Amanda Shigahara, Sacramento State U. shigihara@csus.edu
Social Stratification, Inequality, & Poverty Alexis McCurn, CSU Dominguez Hills amccurn@csudh.edu
Sport and Leisure Ann Travers, Simon Fraser University atravers@sfu.ca
Urban and Community Studies Pepper Glass, Weber State University pepperglass@weber.edu
Theory Reha Kadakal, CSU Channel Islands reha.kadakal@csuci.edu
Teaching Sociology: Community Colleges Dolores Ortiz, Oxnard College dortiz@vcccd.edu
Teaching Sociology: Four Year Colleges Michael Chavez, CSU Long Beach michael.chavez@csulb.edu
Work, Organizations, & Economic Sociology Christy Glass, Utah State University christy.glass@usu.edu
Undergraduate Roundtables & Posters Robert Kettlitz, Hastings College rkettlitz@hastings.edu

2020 Committee Sponsored Sessions for Open Call Submissions

 Most of the following special sessions being organized by PSA committees are open for paper submissions by faculty, applied sociologists, and graduate students; however, one session–“Undergraduates Researching Race Roundtable” is open only for undergraduate participation.

Session Title Sponsoring Committee Organizer
Teaching and Research in Politically Sensitive Times Freedom in Research and Teaching Dan Morrison, Abilene Christian University   dan.morrison@acu.edu
Socio-Poetics and Storytelling Status of Racial and Ethnic Minorities Lori Walkington, CSU San Marcos  lwalking@csusm.edu
“Safety” in the Era of Trump Status of Racial and Ethnic Minorities Lori Walkington, CSU San Marcos  lwalking@csusm.edu
Surviving the Trump Era Status of Racial and Ethnic Minorities Damon Stevens, CSU San Marcos  dstevens@csusm.edu
Border Politics Status of Racial and Ethnic Minorities Lori Walkington, CSU San Marcos  lwalking@csusm.edu
Academic Entrepreneurship & Alternatives to Academic Careers Status of Racial and Ethnic Minorities Marcia Hernandez, University of the Pacific  mhernandez@pacific.edu
People of Color over the Life Course Status of Racial and Ethnic Minorities Alicia Gonzales, CSU San Marcos  amgonzal@csusm.edu
Gendered Resistance in the Sociopolitical Landscape Status of Women Michelle Robertson, St. Edward’s University   michelr@stedwards.edu
Millennial Women: Challenges and Resources Status of Women Sojung Lim, Utah State University  sojung.lim@usu.edu
Intersections of Work, Gender, Family Status of Women Sojung Lim, Utah State University  sojung.lim@usu.edu
Mothering in Academia across the Career Span Status of Women Ryanne Pilgeram, University of Idaho   rpilgeram@uidaho.edu
Women’s Leadership in Social Justice Movements Status of Women Emily Drew, Willamette University   edrew@willamette.edu
Research on Women of Color Status of Women Alicia Gonzales, CSU San Marcos   amgonzal@csusm.edu
Teaching about Climate Change: Engaging Students, Inspiring Change Teaching Laura Earles, Lewis-Clark State College    leearles@lcsc.edu
Strategies for Teaching Gender Teaching & Status of Women Jason Leiker, Utah State University   jason.leiker@usu.edu
Doing Emotional Labor in the Classroom Teaching Michelle Robertson, St. Edward’s University   michelr@stedwards.edu
Creating a Culture of Assessment in Departments and Universities Teaching Laura Fitzwater Gonzales, Pacific Lutheran University   fitzwalb@plu.edu
Innovative Ways to Document Student Learning Teaching Jennifer Puentes, Eastern Oregon University   jpuentes@eou.edu
Teaching Social Problems Teaching Jennifer Puentes, Eastern Oregon University   jpuentes@eou.edu
Teaching Strategies: Resistance in the Sociopolitical Landscape, Teaching Michelle Robertson, St. Edward’s University   michelr@stedwards.edu