2021 Conference: Call for Papers/Sessions

Submissions to present at the 2021 conference are now closed (except for undergraduate students).

To organize its annual meeting, PSA primarily uses an online system of open submissions to topical areas. 

Faculty and other professional sociologists as well as graduate students will access the online system, choose a topical area, and indicate their preferred type of participation (formal research presentation, research-in-progress, or some other type of session).  You can find the list of topical areas below, as well as the program committee members who will organize submissions into sessions for each of these areas. PSA committees also sponsor some special sessions and seek paper submissions; the list of these sessions is also included below. Faculty, graduate students, and other professional sociologists need to provide an abstract of their proposal, with a maximum 200 words, to include the objective, methods, results, and findings as appropriate.

Faculty, graduate students, and applied sociologists can also submit a proposal for a complete session.  This might be a book salon (formerly called author-meets-critics session), a film or other creative media session, or a panel of scholars who want to present together on a particular topic.  However, submissions of sessions completely composed of presenters from one school are discouraged; these sessions are often not well attended, and space in the program is limited.  Presenters instead should submit their individual papers, where they will be placed appropriately in sessions with other presenters—and thus also have the opportunity to learn from these other presenters.

For more information: 2021 submission instructions FOR GRADUATE STUDENTS, FACULTY, APPLIED SOCIOLOGISTS, ETC

Undergraduate students first select either the undergraduate poster or roundtable format, then choose the topical area that best fits their work.  For a poster, students will prepare a large poster about their research, then stand next to it and explain to any interested viewers. For a roundtable, students will send their completed paper to the faculty assigned as Discussant for their table prior to the conference. Then, at the conference, they will be seated at a large table with several other students whose research is on related topics; each student will orally present a summary of their work, and then the faculty Discussant will guide discussion. At the time of submission, undergraduate students are asked to provide a longer proposal that includes two pages of information on their research question, intended contribution of their research, description of theory and methods, and a third page of source references.  Undergraduates also are required to give name and contact information for a faculty mentor who is familiar with their work. Undergraduate submissions are organized into sessions by Undergraduate Coordinator Robert Kettlitz. 

For more information: 2021 submission instructions FOR UNDERGRADUATE STUDENTS

You may not submit the same paper to more than one place within the online submission system.  You may, however, submit  different papers to one or more topical areas or open-call committee-sponsored sessions.

Please submit only papers you really intend to present.  At PSA, papers are generally accepted.  Do not submit a lot of papers in hopes that a few will be accepted.   Submit only papers you firmly expect to be ready to present.

New(ish) topical areas include Black Sociology, Indigenous Sociology, and Rural Sociology. A few topical areas have been joined: Education is now for all levels of education; Economic Sociology has been joined to Work and Organizations; Applied Sociology explicitly includes Public Sociology and Community Research; Youth, Aging, and Lifecourse have been joined; Population and Demography is included with Migration/Immigration; the Military is included with Politics and the State; and Theory covers Classical, Marxist, and Critical strands.

Note: General questions about the conference, submission system, or other general information should be directed to the PSA Executive Office, executivedirector@pacificsoc.org.

2021 Program Committee

Program Chair:  Marcia Marx, California State University, San Bernardino    mmarx@csusb.edu

You will choose from these Topical Areas when you submit your paper.  The Organizers listed will review submissions and organize them into sessions. Please do not send your paper to an Organizer unless you are asked to do so. You must submit your paper in the online submission system.

Topical Area

Name and

Affiliation

Email

Applied, Public Sociology, and Community Research

José Muñoz

CSU San Bernardino

munoz@csusb.edu

Art, Culture, and Popular Culture

Linda Rillorta

Mount San Antonio College

lrillorta@mtsac.edu

Asian/Asian American Sociology

 

Hyeyoung Woo

Portland State University

hyeyoung@pdx.edu

Black Sociology

Lori Walkington

CSU San Marcos

lwalking@csusm.edu

The Intersections of Youth, Aging and the Life Course

 

Gabrielle Plickert

Cal Poly Pomona

gplickert@cpp.edu

Crime, Law, and Deviance

Josh Meisel

Humboldt State University

joshua.meisel@humboldt.edu

Education (Higher Education and other)

Brianne Davila

Cal Poly Pomona

badavila@cpp.edu

Environmental Sociology

Laura Earles

Lewis-Clark State College

leearles@lcsc.edu

Ethnography

Jennifer Reich

Univ. of Colorado, Denver

jennifer.reich@ucdenver.edu

Food and Society

Rachel Soper

CSU Channel Islands

rachel.soper@csuci.edu

Gender

Marjukka Ollilanen

Weber State

mollilainen@weber.edu

Indigenous Sociology

James Courage Singer

Salt Lake Community College

james.singer@slcc.edu

Intimate Relationships, Families, & Reproductive Politics

Megan Carroll

CSU San Bernardino

Megan.carroll@csusb.edu

Labor and Labor Movements

Jason Struna

University of Puget Sound

jstruna@pugetsound.edu

Latinx Sociology

Daniel Olmos

CSU Northridge

daniel.olmos@csun.edu

Media and Communication

 

Linda Rillorta

Mt San Antonio College

lrillorta@mtsac.edu

Medical Sociology and Health

Alicia Bonaparte

Pitzer College

alicia_bonaparte@pitzer.edu

Methods

Pete Simi

Chapman University

simi@chapman.edu

Migration/Immigration//Population

Katie Dingeman

CSU Los Angeles

mdingem@calstatela.edu

Politics, the State and Military

 

Raphi Rechitsky

National University

rechitsky@nu.edu

 

Race, Class and Gender

Kristy Shih

CSU Long Beach

kristy.shih@csulb.edu

Race/Ethnicity

Raul Perez

University of La Verne

raul.perez.soc@gmail.com

Regional Studies, Transnationalism, Globalization, & Development

Shweta Adur

CSU Los Angeles

sadur@calstatela.edu

Religion (including Sociology of Islam)

Reid Leamaster

Glendale Community College

reid.leamaster@gccaz.edu

Rural Sociology

Ryanne Pilgeram

University of Idaho

Rpilgeram@uidaho.edu

Science and Technology

Dilshani Sarathchandra

University of Idaho

dilshanis@uidaho.edu

Sexualities

Jodi O’Brien

Seattle University

jobrien@seattleu.edu

Social Movements and Social Change

Nella Van Dyke

UC Merced

nvandyke@ucmerced.edu

Social Psychology, Identity, and Emotions

Amanda Shigahara

Sacramento State University

shigihara@csus.edu

Social Stratification, Inequality, and Poverty

Alexis McCurn

CSU Dominguez Hills

amccurn@csudh.edu

Sport and Leisure

Ann Travers

Simon Fraser University

atravers@sfu.ca

Urban and Community Studies

Pepper Glass

Weber State University

pepperglass@weber.edu

Theory: Classical, Marxist, and Critical

Reha Kadakal

CSU Channel Islands

reha.kadakal@csuci.edu

Teaching Sociology

Dolores Ortiz

Oxnard College

dortiz@vcccd.edu

Work, Organizations, and Economic Sociology

Rebecca Li

The College of New Jersey

Lirebecc@tcnj.edu

Undergraduate Roundtables & Posters

Robert Kettlitz

Hastings College

rkettlitz@hastings.edu