Call for Session Proposals and Papers: California Sociological Association, Nov. 9-10, 2018

California Sociological Association 2018 Annual Meeting

Mission Inn — Riverside, November 9-10, 2018

It’s not too early to make your reservation at the Mission Inn.   To make your reservation, call the Mission Inn at 800-843-7755 and tell them you will be attending the California Sociological Association conference on November 9-10.  The conference rate is $165 for one or two people.  The conference rate is good for ThursdayFriday, and/or Saturday nights.  Please try to stay at the conference hotel We guarantee a block of rooms and we have to pay a penalty if we don’t make our guarantee.
The Mission Inn will charge your credit card for the first night of your stay.  If you should need to cancel or change your reservation, you must do so at least 48 hours in advance to avoid cancellation charges.  The deadline for making your hotel reservation is October 18.

Call for Session Proposals–Send proposals for sessions and panels to Elvia Ramirez, CSU Sacramento, eramirez@csus.edu

Preliminary list of sessions –More sessions will be added later.  Please consider presenting your work at our conference.  Send your abstract directly to the session organizer.  If your paper doesn’t fit in any of the sessions, send it to our program chair, Elvia Ramirez (eramirez@csus.edu),and she will find a home for it.

SESSION TITLE ORGANIZER EMAIL
Global Social Change Christopher Chase-Dunn chriscd@ucr.edu
Student Research Session Hernan Ramirez Hernan.Ramirez@canyons.edu
Food, Identity, and Labor Sara Bruene sara.bruene.227@my.csun.edu
What About Us? Adjunct Faculty on College Campuses Marie Nubia-Feliciano menubia@gmail.com
Indigenous Peoples: Historical Perspectives, Contemporary Realities, & Future Trajectories Levin Welch lwelc004@ucr.edu
Social Movements Timothy Kubal tkubal@csufresno.edu
Political Ideologies and Social Activism Ed Clarke Eclarke@vanguard.edu
Labor, Exploitation, and Working Class Resistance Ellen Reese ellenr@ucr.edu
Community and Identity Thea Alvarado tsalvarado@pasadena.edu
Environmental Sociology Nayla Huq nayla.huq@gmail.com
The Media: Sensationalism at an All Time High Tonmar Johnson tonmar.johnson@solano.edu
Ethnic Identity, Resilience, and Resistance Edwin Lopez edwlopez@Fullerton.edu
This is America: White Supremacy, The Media, and Modern Racism Jared Weissman jaredaw@csu.fullerton.edu
Teaching in Higher Education and Social Change Corina Diaz cediaz@Cerritos.edu
Undergraduate Research and Social Change Corina Diaz cediaz@Cerritos.edu
Policing Citizenship Along the U.S.-Mexico Border Heidy Sarabia heidy.sarabia@csus.edu
Immigrant Inclusion and Exclusion in the U.S. Heidy Sarabia heidy.sarabia@csus.edu
Advances in Microsociology and Social Psychology Michael Carter michael.carter@csun.edu
Sexual Harassment and Political Activity Ed Clarke Eclarke@vanguard.edu
Social Science and Globalization (Graduate Student Roundtable-A) Jose Munoz Munoz@csusb.edu
Social Science and Globalization (Graduate Student Roundtable-B) Jose Munoz Munoz@csusb.edu
Intermediated Relationships Michael Nitzani nitzanm@elac.edu
Pedagogical Practices for Sociology Anne Marenco Anne.Marenco@canyons.edu
Deviant Subcultures Emily E. Prior EEPRIOR@pasadena.edu
Latina Experiences in the Academy Elvia Ramirez eramirez@csus.edu
Current Issues in Latino Research Alicia Gonzales amgonzal@csusm.edu
Making Sociology Matter (Graduate Student Session) Alicia Gonzales amgonzal@csusm.edu
Race Matters (Graduate Student Session) Alicia Gonzales amgonzal@csusm.edu
Undergraduate Research Alicia Gonzales amgonzal@csusm.edu
Sociological Theory Frank Roberts frmarob@gmail.com

 

 

 

Posted in Calls for Papers and Other Announcements