PSA 2017 Conference in Portland

mounthood1 (2)The Pacific Sociological Association’s   88th Annual Meeting/Conference
Thursday, April 6 to Sunday, April 9 2017

Institutional Betrayal:  Inequity, Discrimination, Bullying, and Retaliation in Academia

President:  Karen Pyke, UC Riverside
Vice President:  Michelle Camacho, University of San Diego

At the Hilton Portland & Executive Tower,
Portland, Oregon

PSA 2017 Program Committee             

Topical Area Member E-Mail
Applied Clinical and Public Sociology Sophia Lyn Nathenson SophiaLyn.Nathenson@oit.edu
Art, Culture, and Popular Culture William Hayes hayesw@gonzaga.edu
Asian/Asian American Sociology Shweta Adur sadur@exchange.fullerton.edu
Body Georgiann Davis Georgiann.davis@unlv.edu
Bullying Todd Migliaccio tmigliac@csus.edu
Childhood and Youth Marisol Clark-Ibanez mibanez@csusm.edu
Crime, Law, and Deviance Tanya Nieri tanya.nieri@ucr.edu
Demography, Population, and Methods Augustine Kposowa augustine.kposowa@ucr.edu
Economic Sociology Rebecca Emigh Emigh@soc.ucla.edu
Education—Primary and Secondary Karen Pyke karen.pyke@ucr.edu
Environmental Sociology James Rice  jcrice@nmsu.edu
Ethnography Black Hawk Hancock bhancock@depaul.edu
Food and Society Black Hawk Hancock bhancock@depaul.edu
Geographic Information Systems and Spatial Analysis Emily Asencio emily.asencio@sonoma.edu
Gender Kristy Shih shih1k@cmich.edu
Globalization Anthony J. Roberts arober21@calstatela.edu
Higher Education Megan Thiele  megan.thiele@sjsu.edu
Inequality, Poverty, Stratification Ranita Ray ranita.ray@unlv.edu
Inequity, Discrimination, and Retaliation in Academia Karen Pyke Karen.pyke@ucr.edu
Intimate Relationships, Families, and Reproductive Politics Constance L. Shehan cshehan@ufl.edu
Labor and Labor Movements Molly Talcott mtalcot@calstatela.edu
Latina/o Sociology Manuel Barajas barajasm@csus.edu
Life Course and Aging Jacob Huang Jacob.Huang@fresno.edu
Marxist Sociology/Critical Sociology Jason Struna jstruna@pugetsound.edu
Media and Communication Jeffrey Montez de Oca jmontezd@uccs.edu
Medical Sociology and Health Benjamin Lewin blewin@pugetsound.edu
Migration/Immigration Edwin Lopez edwlopez@exchange.fullerton.edu
Politics and the State (Political Sociology) Christopher Chase-Dunn christopher.chase-dunn@ucr.edu
Race/Ethnicity Jody Agius Vallejo vallejoj@dornsife.usc.edu
Race, Class & Gender Leisy J. Abrego abrego@ucla.edu
Regional Studies, Transnationalism, Globalization, and Development Oluwakemi M. Balogun kbalogun@uoregon.edu
Religion Isabella Kasselstrand ikasselstrand@gmail.com
Science and Technology Daniel Morrison Dan.morrison@vanderbilt.edu
Sexualities CJ Pascoe cpascoe@uoregon.edu
Sexual Assault José G. Soto-Márquez & Jessie Ford jgsoma@nyu.edu
jvford@nyu.edu
Social Movements and Social Change Nella Van Dyke nvandyke@ucmerced.edu
Social Psychology Jill Harrison jah@uoregon.edu
Sociology of Islam, the Middle East, and the War on Terror Sabrina Alimahomed-Wilson Sabrina.Alimahomed@csulb.edu
Sport & Leisure Michelle Robertson michelr@stedwards.edu
Teaching Sociology  April  Cubbage acubbage@saddleback.edu
Theory Jason M Wollschleger jwollschleger@whitworth.edu
Urban and Community Studies Luis Sanchez luis.sanchez@csuci.edu
Violence, Peace, Military Michael Dreiling dreiling@uoregon.edu
Work and Organizations Christy Glass christy.glass@usu.edu

Undergraduate Coordinator:  Robert Kettlitz   rkettlitz@hastings.edu  

Committee-Sponsored Sessions with an Open Call for Submissions

Committee Session Title/Topic Committee Member/Organizer
Committee on Community Colleges Service Learning in Community College Classrooms Liz Bennett
Committee on Community Colleges The Politics of Community Colleges and Academia April Cubbage and Harry Mersmann
Committee on Community Colleges Veteran Issues and Support in Community Colleges Ami Mezahav and Daniel Poole
Committee on Community Colleges Civic Engagement in Community Colleges Daniel Poole
Committee on Community Colleges Fostering Community College Student Involvement and Activism Jackie Logg
Committee on the Status of Women Work/Life Balance: From Minimum Wage to the Glass Ceiling
Committee on the Status of Women Gender and Occupational Paths
Committee on the Status of Women Gender and Violence/Sex on Campus
Committee on the Status of Women Gender and Politics
Committee on the Status of Women Feminisms: What is Feminism Today? **undergraduate roundtable**
Committee on Teaching Institutional Betrayal and the Adjunct Experience Rosemary Powers

 

Program Advisors: Will organize invited sessions related to conference theme
Name Email Topic/title
Dana M. Britton Dbritton@work.rutgers.edu On NSF Advance
Angela Harris apharris@ucdavis.edu On Presumed Incompetent: The Intersections of Race and Class for Women in Academia
Andi Stepnick & Kris De Welde Plenary on Disrupting the Culture of Silence
Kris De Welde & Andi Stepnick kdewelde@fgcu.edu Workshop
Sharon Elise and Kristy Shih selise@csusm.edu  shih1k@cmich.edu Organize Grad Fair
Jodi O’Brien jobrien@seattleu.edu  
Sharon Bird sharon.bird@okstate.edu  
Sharon Elise selise@csusm.edu  
Elvia Ramirez eramirez@csus.edu  
Mary Romero Mary.romero@asu.edu  
Joseph Childers Joseph.childers@ucr.edu  
Laura Hirshfield lhirshf@uic.edu  

Local Area Arrangements:

Dwaine Plaza, Gentrification Tour   dwaine_plaza@yahoo.com
Ron Mize, Pub Crawl; Coffee Crawl   ron.mize@oregonstate.edu
Anthony Silvaggio, Weed Walk   Anthony.silvaggio@humboldt.edu